Skip to content

Perfection

February 26, 2013
Lilium

Lilium (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Today Harold Feddersen* suggested seeing the perfection in things just as they are.  During discussion about how to do that, it became clear that Harold didn’t mean accepting things as they are.  He meant more than mere acceptance.

When I imagine seeing perfection in things as they are, I see wholeness.  When I imagine seeing perfection in things as they are, I see celebration.

Maybe a few statements about perfection will clarify the intention of my most recent post “Labeling as Dividing”.

The children with whom I work are perfect just the way they are.  I don’t just mean that I accept them as they are.  I mean I see them as whole.  I see them as little beings worth celebrating.  Occupational therapy is available to them and to their families if brainstorming is required to move forward.  However, my goal is never to “fix” the child.  The child does not need fixing.  We brainstorm solutions to problems from a place of believing that the child is perfect as he or she is.

Please feel free to share how you see the perfection in things just as they are.

Sheila

*Harold Feddersen www.unleashingyourpotential.wordpress.com

 

From → labels/diagnoses

2 Comments
  1. I am glad to hear that you assist young people to see their perfection. It is challenging for most of us to see this in ourselves and if someone (like a therapist, teacher or social worker) is trying to get of one’s impairment, difference or delay it is even harder. I suspect as I get better at celebrating who I am – just as I am – I will be better at supporting the children I serve to do the same. Thank you very much for taking the time to share. I really appreciate hearing from others facing similar challenges.

  2. Hi Sheila, I see we share the same values. Just wanted to drop a line and say thank you for sharing your thoughts. In my work with children and young people, both as a teacher and a social worker, I have explored the pygmalion phenomenon. What really works for me is when I help young people see their perfection and as you wrote is not about mere acceptance. Warm thoughts from Melbourne

I look forward to hearing your thoughts!

