Skip to content

influence of stereotypes

May 3, 2012

A person I respect reminds me that child protection services must investigate reports so I am not critisizing the child protection services in this post.  I am just highlighting that the stereotypes of disabled people are pervasive.  The sterotypes lead to disabled people having to defend their desire to have children – to have families.  I write this as a person who has been guilty of judging a disabled person’s right to have a child (possibly even a disabled child) in the recent past.  I am not proud of that fact.

Below is a link to a story about an investigation into an Ontario couple’s ability to care for their baby.  I post it to remind all of us about our own prejudices and stereotypes.  One friend sarcasticly joked that “we can’t let disabled people have babies because then there will be more of them”.  Is that the kernel of truth in some of our prejudices? 

http://www.cbc.ca/news/health/story/2012/05/01/parents-with-disabilities-childrens-aid.html

From → labels/diagnoses

2 Comments
  1. I am very excited that you are following my blog. I have also visited your blog and will continue to do so. From out different vantage points in our OT careers, I hope we can gently encourage each other to partner with those of us who are not included in our society. A more inclusive society is good for all of us. Thanks for your comment. I look forward to hearing more of your thoughts and feelings.

    Sheila

  2. imgls1989 permalink

    Wow. I think that a big problem is that most people are unaware of a lot of the theories of disability, so they resort to their own ableist prejudices to make judgment calls on other people’s lives. The more I read about this type of situation, the more I want to help in the fight for equality. It is clear that people with disabilities are not yet fully accepted in our society.

    I love your blog by the way. I will be entering my first year of OT school in the US this fall, and I would love to focus on advocacy and inclusion. I really admire your outlook on OT.

I look forward to hearing your thoughts!

