Skip to content

Independence. Interdependence.

April 27, 2012

Hi.  Just a short post about the idea of independence.  I have been wanting to write about independence for a long time but still haven’t got my thoughts together.  So maybe I will be interdependent – or even dependent – and ask for help.  How do you define independence?  Is being independent important to you?  Do you find it difficult to ask for help? 

It seems to me that our North American anglo culture de-values asking for help.  It seems easier for John to ask me to help Sally than it is for John to ask me to help John.  What I mean is that people seem to have less trouble asking me to help with hockey, gymnastics, school advisory committee etc. (for the kids) than they do asking me if I could help them personally.  I must admit that I also have trouble asking for help but I love being able to do something specific for someone else – especially if it is something I am good at that is difficult for the other person.

What do you think independence means?

Sheila

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

I look forward to hearing your thoughts!

