Skip to content

Friendships – dissolving us and them

April 10, 2012
A map of parties to the Convention on the Righ...

A map of parties to the Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities. Parties in dark green, countries which have signed but not ratified in light green, non-members in grey. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

A friend e-mailed me after yesterday’s post and asked “Did you mean that the rest of us need some programs to help us stop limiting who we can be friends with and how we can be friends? ”  Indeed.  That is what I meant.

Then on facebook my aunt posted a question something like “Do you think people without disabilities take things like friendship for granted?”  That is a very good question and you can go to facebook to see more about that particular question.  However, what the question did for me was make me uncomfortable about the distinction between disabled people and non-disabled people.  Ergo – the us and them in the title of this particular blog.

I am a white Euro-Canadian woman with an average IQ who takes medication (and does other things) to manage depression.  I was raised as a Roman Catholic in a working class home.  I currently participate in no religion and have a middle class income.  I am in a monogamous relationship (married) with a man – ie: I view the world from a heterosexual perspective.  There is probably more about me that influences my worldview and my friendships but that is all that I will list for now.  I just made this short list so that you understand where I come from when I try out this statement “People with developmental disabilities don’t need programs to improve their social skills so that they have more friends.  People without developmental disabilities need programs to help us/them to stop limiting who we can be friends with and how we can be friends.”

Sheila – PS: My blog platform gives me options of photos to include in my blog and I thought the picture above was interesting.  I will write about the Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities in a future post.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

I look forward to hearing your thoughts!

