Skip to content

Care, Reciprocity, and Interdependence – We can learn from disabled people

April 5, 2012

I started this blog – Enabling occupational therapy – in order to find other occupational therapists who want to focus on supporting disabled people rather than unintentionally oppressing them. However, this evening – as I finished reading a book I mentioned in the last blog post “The Rejected Body – Feminist Philosophical Reflections on Disability” by Susan Wendell – I realized that I may want to change the focus of this blog. Services, such as occupational therapy, can be incredibly helpful to people with impairments. I hope that I have been (and continue to be) of assistance to the people that I have served during my career as an occupational therapist. However, I think it is now time to shift some of my efforts to helping to change our society/our culture so that the contributions of disabled people are sought after. People with impairments and the people who care about (and sometimes for) them have much to offer to our culture about how to live good lives. People with impairments care for their loved ones, too. What that care looks like can teach all of us how to live together in more loving, respectful ways. I’ll write more about this in a future blog but I would love to hear about your thoughts and feelings about dependence, independence and interdependence.

Sheila

Leave a Comment

I look forward to hearing your thoughts!

