Skip to content

a different kind of humility

February 27, 2012

Today I realized that I was viewing one of my clients through a deficit lens rather than through a strengths lens.  I feel a little ashamed considering that just yesterday I was writing about not listing all that “is wrong” with a child.  This is a reminder of how challenging I am finding it to work in a way that is supportive and enabling rather than limiting and excluding.  It also reminds me of how much I need people like the colleague who shone the light on my deficit lens.   I am humbled by how challenging it can be to practice what I preach.  I write in a journal to help me to work the way I really want to work.  Do any of you have other suggestions as to how I can regularly check my lens – so to speak?  Thanks in advance.

Sheila Howick Hamilton (northernot)

Leave a Comment

I look forward to hearing your thoughts!

