Skip to content

cultural humility

February 14, 2012

While discussing my previous post “occupational therapy conference”, I was asked to post the web sites for the you tube videos that I came across when I was researching cultural humility.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NLCSOZuhdJK

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N_-UxamBOhO&feature=related

I’d like to warn you that they are very physician oriented.  They also neglect to include disability status as a cultural factor to consider.  I add disability status because there is evidence that people with impairments such as cerebral palsy receive health care that is not as comprehensive as those without obvious impairments.  I can’t cite the reference of the top of my head.  Sorry about that.

I also include disability status in this discussion of cultural humility because I believe it is important that all of us who work with disabled people must explore our feelings and thoughts about disability.  We need to uncover and be aware of any ideas we may have about disability in order to not impose our ideas upon our clients.  Just as we must be aware of how we feel and think about sexual orientation when we are working with someone who may have a sexual orientation different than ours or different than the mainstream orientation.

Please let me know if you have any trouble with those links and I’ll see what I can do.

Sheila

I look forward to hearing your thoughts!

