Skip to content

inclusion

February 8, 2012
English: Blue Topaz gemstones with inclusion.

Image via Wikipedia

I’ve been thinking about inclusion.  Sometimes it is hard to include everyone.  Some of us are slow while others are fast.  Some of us think then speak.  Others speak and then regret it.  Some of us are so open we embarrass the people we’re with.  Others are so private, that people are always wondering what we are really thinking.  It can be very challenging to be welcoming to all.  I’ve been thinking that maybe authentic, transparent communication is one of the ways for us to connect with such a wide variety of people.  I think we resist communicating in this way because it makes us vulnerable.  For example “I feel hurt when you say that about my child.” can lead to a response like “Oh, I didn’t mean anything by it.  You’re too sensitive.”  Then we ask ourselves “Am I being too sensitive?” and well you know where the spiralling self-talk can go.

But there is always the possibility that the response will be “Oh, I’m sorry.” and the person may then choose their words more carefully.  I’ll be trying to communicate like this in my job and in my life.  What are others’ experiences of inclusion, exclusion, and authentic, transparent communication?

Leave a Comment

I look forward to hearing your thoughts!

