Skip to content

acknowledging challenges

January 15, 2012

I don’t know how to acknowledge the challenges a mother is facing without labelling her son.

I uploaded the above sentence from my work-related journal.    I started the journal to help me to actually work in a way that is reflective of my vision (I’ll post that next time.)  Since then, I have read some blogs by mothers of disabled children.  Some of the mothers are very angry about how long it took them to receive a diagnosis for their child.  As an occupational therapist, I don’t diagnose children.  However, there are times when my work can assist with the diagnostic process.  In addition to receiving services, sometimes a diagnosis helps people to understand a child better.

That said, I am uncomfortable with the labeling related to diagnosis.

I look forward to hearing what others may think about this.

From → labels/diagnoses

2 Comments
  1. Thanks for reading my blog and linking yours. It is very helpful to read what parents say about disabled children. I also liked motherandsonjourney.wordpress.com
    that you listed in your blogroll.

    Sheila

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. D – is for Diagnosis A-Z Blog Challenge Day 4 | Set in My Ways

I look forward to hearing your thoughts!

