Skip to content

Article and questions

January 9, 2012

I am still learning about blogs so please bear with me. 

I recently read the following article:

Wiart, L., Ray, L., Darrah, J. & Magill-Evans, J. (2010). Parents’ perspectives on

occupational therapy and physical therapy goals for children with cerebral

palsy. Disability and Rehabilitation, 32(3). 248-258.

The following quotes are taken from that article.  “Parents of children with more severe disabilities appeared more likely to question societal standards for normalcy.” This is where I am.  I am even questioning the idea that children born with I. Q.s that fall a certain number of standard deviations below the norm are considered to have an intellectual impairment

In the same article, the authors identify that parents of children with less severe disabilities “mentioned a desire to make their movements more typical so they would be accepted by others”.  I believe (though I could be wrong because I don’t currently have a child with movement abilities that would generally be considered atypical) that I understand this perspective.  Yet, it made me think of articles and books that I have read about people with impairments “passing” as people without impairments. 

My big question is “If I assist people to ‘pass’, what am I saying about people who can’t ‘pass’?

From → "passing"

Leave a Comment

I look forward to hearing your thoughts!

